Land Data unveils shortlist for 2014 National Local Land Charges Awards for Excellence

09 January 2014

Over 33 local authorities have reached the final stages of the national Local Land Charges Awards for their achievements and outstanding work in providing local land charges services for their communities.

The prestigious national awards acknowledge the work and achievements of local land charges officers across England and Wales, celebrating those local authorities who are pushing boundaries in an increasingly challenging environment. The winners will be announced at an awards dinner on 24th February 2014 in Bristol, actor Shaun Williamson (best known for his former role as Barry Evans in EastEnders) will host the awards ceremony.

Awards will be presented in 5 categories plus the lifetime achievement award, which will be presented to an individual who has made an outstanding contribution to the local land charges sector.

The awards are organised by Land Data, the National Land and Information Service (NLIS) regulator and are now on their 7th year.

Jan Boothroyd, Chief Executive of Land Data, comments: “We are very proud to host the awards ceremony that recognises the excellent work of local authority local land charges. Despite increasing pressure from cuts and reduced budgets we are delighted to see so many departments rising above the challenges and improving and promoting high standards.”

This year’s awards are sponsored by the NLIS Hub, Thames Water Property Searches, the Local Land Charges Institute and SearchFlow.

The short listed finalists (in alphabetical order) are:

Customer Satisfaction for Local Authority Searches

  • Barnsley Council
  • Birmingham City Council
  • Torridge District Council
  • Wakefield Metropolitan District Council
  • West Devon Borough Council

Most improved NLIS (National Land Information Service) services

  • Ashfield District Council
  • Barnet London Borough Council 
  • Barrow-in-Furness Borough Council
  • Brentwood Borough Council
  • Eden District Council
  • Gateshead Borough Council
  • Hartlepool Borough Council
  • Kingston Upon Hull City Council
  • South Somerset District Council
  • Torridge District Council

Best performing NLIS Level 3 Local Land Charges Department

  • Dartford Borough Council
  • Epsom & Ewell Borough Council
  • Hastings Borough Council
  • Medway Council
  • Mid Devon District Council
  • South Somerset District Council
  • Torridge District Council
  • Wakefield Metropolitan District Council 
  • Worcester City Council
  • City of York Council

Best performing NLIS Level 2 Local Land Charges Department

  • Brentwood Borough Council
  • Gateshead Borough Council
  • Gravesham Borough Council
  • Merton London Borough Council
  • Mid Sussex District Council
  • Newham London Borough Council
  • North Devon District Council
  • Southampton City Council
  • Spelthorne Borough Council
  • Tandridge District Council

Local Land Charges Officer of the Year

  • Clare Merson, St Albans City & District Council
  • Amanda Harcourt, City of London Corporation
  • Shirley Crook, London Borough of Croydon

Our website uses cookies for optimum user experience, to find out more see our Privacy Policy or
Log in
Some areas of this website are restricted to Local Authority Members. If you are registered please log in below.
To register as a user you must be a Local Land Charges employee of a Local Authority
Click here if you have forgotten your password